Introduction

August 30, 2010

The mid-morning sun stretches its rays across the little valley below. Lazy cattle smack their tales in gratitude. A patchwork of fields lie still and peaceful, as a lonely tractor shuffles through them. The mossy, meandering river ribbons itself through the picture that takes life outside my passenger window. I turn my attention back indoors.

“She thinks my tractor’s sexy!” Jake, my loving husband and lucky “Ace,” unashamedly belts out the country lyrics along with the car radio.

“da-da-ba-ma-ma!” Our 1yr. Old, Cyrus, accompanies from the back seat, as we make our weekly venture down to church. A smile tugs at the corners of my mouth, as I struggle to stifle my laughter. This song has to be a sin on some level.

We round the last turn coming down off of the hill, and turn onto the single road running through our tiny town. To the left of us, sits our teeny library and post office who co-exist in the old restaurant. Next door, is our one and only little gas station. The right side of the street is a tad-bit more exciting with its hair-salon, take-out deli, volunteer fire-dept. station, and the community center that substitutes as a church every Sunday morning. One had to love it here. Where else would you be considered rude for not waving at every passing vehicle, simply because everybody really does know everybody? Where else could you get picked up an hour late, because your friend got caught up talking at the post office? Where else could someone take a tiny truth, turn it into an elaborate story, and have the entire town believe the lie, simply, to cure boredom? Yes, this was Willowmoss, and this was home.

“… She’s even kind of crazy ‘bout my farmer’s tan. She’s the only one who really understands what gets me!” As we pull into the community center, I join the rest of the Hill family. “She thinks my tractor’s sexy!” Watch out world. Here comes the Hills of Willowmoss.

One Response to “Introduction”

  1. LOTGK Says:

    Your description of your small town reminded me of one of my favorite old time television programs.
    The Andy Griffith Show, the town of Mayberry, Barney Fife, Goober, and Gomer, and of course Otis the town drunk.
    In one episode, as the men were discussing at the courthouse what they planned on doing for excitement that Friday night,
    Andy replied, I’m going down to Floyd’s (The towns only barber shop) and watch a couple of haircuts.


Leave a Reply

